Return to Homepage

Home   |   Site Map   |   Privacy   |   Contact Us   |   RSS YouTube Twitter Linked In Facebook Instagram NASCIO Community
Email This Page     |     Print This Page     |    
Comments?     |     Share This Link

Champion Award

AWARDS & RECOGNITION   |   NASCIO's Technology Champion Award

NASCIO's members recognize the need for strong, cross-jurisdictional leadership to advance sound information technology policy. Each spring NASCIO’s Executive Committee recognizes an individual who has demonstrated a clear understanding of the fundamental role that information technology can play in efficient and effective government operations. The NASCIO Technology Champion Award honors innovative leadership to promote sound information technology solutions, policies and practices. Recipients have a proven track record of sustained interest in and advocacy for IT in the public sector.

2014 NASCIO Technology Champion Recipient

Dave McClure, Associate Administrator, Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies, U.S. General Services Administration

The NASCIO Technology Champion Award honors innovative leadership to promote sound information technology solutions, policies and practices. This year the award recipient is Dave McClure, Associate Administrator from the office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies at the U.S. General Services Administration.

Over three decades in the public, private and non-profit sectors, Dave McClure has been one of the most active and influential participants in the development and implementation of advanced technology in government. He has been at the center of IT modernization since the 1990s, when, as director for the information management studies at the Government Accountability Office, he pioneered GAO’s best practices reports, leading to the Clinger-Cohen and E-Government acts.

Dave McClure wields significant influence within the government IT community and its public, private, academic and non-profit partners. In addition to working with the White House and Office of Management and Budget to implement the administration’s open government, digital strategy and IT efficiency programs, he serves on the Federal CIO Council Executive Committee and the Federal Digital Services Advisory Group. He is regularly consulted by the American Council for Technology as a charter member of its Executive Advisory Council.

Dave is a friend of NASCIO and has collaborated with us on joint research projects and is always willing to listen to opportunities to assist states.

During his career he has been recognized repeatedly as an influential IT leader, receiving dozens of major awards in the government IT community.

Prior Recipients:

2013 National Technology Champions
William Pelgrin,President & CEO of the Center for Internet Security
2012 National Technology Champions
Dr. Alan Shark, CEO and Executive Director, PTI
2011 National Technology Champions
Aneesh Chopra, United States Chief Technology Officer

Vivek Kundra, United States Chief Information Officer
2010 National Technology Champion
Martin O'Malley, Governor, Maryland
2009 National Technology Champion
Tom Carper, Senator, Delaware
2008 National Technology Champion
Peter Harkness, Editor and Publisher, Governing Magazine
2007 National Technology Champion
Cathilea Robinett, Executive Director, Center for Digital Government
2006 National Technology Champion
Secretary Michael Leavitt, US Department of Health and Human Services
2005 National Technology Champion
Jerry Mechling, Lecturer in Public Policy, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
2004 National Technology Champion
Jim Geringer, Governor of Wyoming 1995 – 2003
2003 National Technology Champion
Congressman Tom Davis, US House of Representatives, Virginia

NASCIO Community - Government Affairs Capitals in the Clouds Part IV – Cloud Security: On Mission and Means A Call to Action: Information Exchange Strategies